Slice of Life #18 – Wings

Standard

As I sit on our couch, laptop perched on my lap, my husband is leaning over our daughter’s shoulder as she gives him a quick lesson on how to operate the new juicer she just purchased.

“Do you think I should add one more apple or is it good?” she asks.

“No, it’s perfect,” he answers,  “Pretty cool machine you got there, Bird.”

And in that moment, like so many times before, I am so happy my children have a father in their life.  He has little nicknames for each of them that they alone use, they have their little inside jokes, their silly little family stories and shared experiences.

My father passed away when I was in high school so I never knew an adult relationship with him.  As I see my young adult children making their way in the world I am so glad to be a part of their growing and maturing and I am ever thankful they have a good man to hold them close and give them wings.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life #18 – Wings

  1. I love this little snippet of your life. The simple dialogue between your husband and daughter says a lot about what is sweet and pure in parenthood, family, and life. I can see this woven into a deeper memoir. I found myself wanting to know his other nicknames for your children.

  2. Thank you for sharing this slice…I really appreciate how you paint this picture of the two of them sitting together, having an ordinary moment. Sometimes, ordinary moments make the best slices.

Leave a Reply

